Search - User list
Full Version: Robin's Mk2 Energy Bucket - or similar
Root » Optimising usage » Robin's Mk2 Energy Bucket - or similar
Britta

Hi

I am currently investigating DIY devices such as Robin's Mk2 Energy Bucket / power router. I know from reading through other threads that there are forum users who have experience of building and using devices like this one, and I am hoping I could get you to share your experiences and if possible even some pics?

It doesn't have to be Robin's particularly, any experiences of building - or even failing to build - devices that divert surplus power to immersion heaters or even storage devices if anybody has any good or bad experiences of designing/building anything like that?

Thanks

Britta

ps. for people who might not have come across the marvellous Robin'r Mk2, there is a lot of information here http://www.talkingsolar.co.uk/index.php/robin-s-mk-2-energy-bucket

chassyh

Hi

I've been using a Robin's Mk 2 for nearly 12 months now, with great results.  All my data is on the Talking Solar website, as is a photograph of my installation.

The photograph can be found on the forum part of the site, navigate via the index tab to the main forum = Other Threads = Hot Water then to page 2 of that topic. My installation picture is post #1074.

My data, including how much I have managed to divert using Robin's system can be found following this path :-

Index tab = Main Forum = Members Generation Figures =Members Monthly Generation.  My data is at the top of page 2, my user name is Chassyh.

Although I would love to say that I had constructed the device myself, it was done by a third party.

Regards

Chas

JGS

I have used Robin's Mk2pvrouter for just over 14 months. I also have a friend who has just installed one. Both of us think this is the way to go. I am quite surprised by how much electricity I export. It is far more than half of what I generate and to maximise my financial return I need to use more of it.